Staff Directory - Saint Francis Veterinary Specialists

Internal Medicine:

Laura J. Smallwood, DVM, Dipl. ACVIM is our founder and Medical Director. She obtained her Doctorate of Veterinary Medicine from Kansas State University in 1984, followed by a small animal medicine internship at Santa Cruz Veterinary Hospital in Santa Cruz, CA. Dr. Smallwood completed her small animal internal medicine residency program at the University of Georgia School of Veterinary Medicine in 1989. She was a general veterinary practitioner for a three year period between her internship and residency training. Dr. Smallwood has practiced specialty veterinary medicine in Atlanta since 1990.
   Internal Medicine:

Jennifer McCown, DVM, Dipl. ACVIM.  Dr. McCown completed her veterinary training in 2005 at the University of Florida College of Veterinary Medicine. She completed her small animal medicine and surgery internship at a multi-specialty hospital in Florida in 2006, and her small animal medicine residency at the University of Florida College of Veterinary Medicine in 2009. Dr. McCown joined Saint Francis Veterinary Specialists after practicing in a specialty and emergency hospital in California for four years.
 
 
 Internal Medicine:

Kelly O'Neill, DVM, Dipl. ACVIM.
Dr. O’Neill completed her veterinary training in 2010 at Colorado State University.  She completed her small animal medicine and surgery internship at VCA Veterinary Referral and Emergency Center in Norwalk, CT in 2011, and her small animal medicine residency at The Tufts Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine in 2014. Dr. O’Neill joins Saint Francis Veterinary Specialists after the successful completion of her requirements to be granted diplomate status with the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine.
 
Director of Emergency Medicine:

Katie Belz, DVM.
Dr. Belz obtained her Doctorate of Veterinary Medicine, graduating Summa Cum Laude in 2007 from the Texas A&M School of Veterinary Medicine. Next, she completed an internship in Small Animal Medicine at the University of Florida College of Veterinary Medicine. Dr. Belz then completed her residency in Small Animal Internal Medicine at Virginia Tech College of Veterinary Medicine. Dr. Belz sucessfully passed the ACVIM Board examination in June, 2011. 
 
Surgery:

Timothy James, DVM, CCRT, Practice Limited to Surgery. Dr. James graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Madison with a degree in Zoology. He studied tick-borne illnesses, specifically Lyme disease, at the State Laboratory of Hygiene. He decided not to pursue a career in research, opting for Veterinary medicine. He graduated from the University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine in 2003. Dr. James was employed at 24-hour critical care and referral facilities in Indianapolis and Chattanooga.Dr. James became certified in Canine Rehabilitation in 2006 and has a special interest in neurological cases and sports injuries. He completed a residency in Canine and Feline Practice through the American Board of Veterinary Practicioners in 2007. Dr. James then completed his surgical residency in 2014.

Radiology:

Tasha M. Axam, DVM, Dipl. ACVR is our radiologist. She received her Doctorate of Veterinary Medicine from the Tuskegee University School of Veterinary Medicine in 2004. She completed a small animal surgery and medicine internship at the Purdue University School of Veterinary Medicine in 2005, and completed her residency in diagnostic imaging at the University of Georgia School of Veterinary Medicine in 2008.

Directory

Veterinarian Patient Referrals & Reception Desk:
email:   referrals@sfvs.com   phone: 404-924-2000

Staff Contact Information

Name: Position: Phone:  Email:
Dr. Laura Smallwood Diplomate ACVIM - Internal Medicine & Medical Dir. 404-924-2000 ext. 110 lsmallwood@sfvs.com
Dr. Jennifer McCown Diplomate ACVIM - Internal Medicine  404-924-2000 ext. 127 jmccown@sfvs.com 
Dr. Kelly O'Neill  Diplomate ACVIM - Internal Medicine  404-924-2000 ext. 106  koneill@sfvs.com 
Dr. Katie Belz  DVM - Director of Emergency Medicine 404-924-2000 ext. 129 kbelz@sfvs.com 
Dr. Tasha M. Axam Diplomate ACVR - Diagnostic Imaging 404-924-2000 ext. 130 taxam@sfvs.com
Dr. Timothy James  DVM, CCRT - Surgery  404-924-2000 ext. 105 tjames@sfvs.com 
Dr. Melissa Ehrlich  DVM - Emergency Clinician  404-924-2000 ext. 115 mehrlich@sfvs.com
Dr. Juliette Van Galder  DVM - Emergency Clinician  404-924-2000 ext. 115 jvangalder@sfvs.com
Dr. Corinne Rehmann   DVM - Emergency Clinician   404-924-2000 ext. 115 crehmann@sfvs.com 
Dr. Danielia Bender DVM - Emergency Clinician  404-924-2000 ext. 115  dbender@sfvs.com 
Dr. Bridgid Lammers  DVM - Emergency Clinician   404-924-2000 ext. 115  blammers@sfvs.com 
Tommy Meers CVPM, Administration, Finance, I.T. 404-924-2000 ext. 108 tmeers@sfvs.com
Matthew Laing CVT, Practice Manager, H-R  404-924-2000 ext. 116  mlaing@sfvs.com 
Tamara Williams Client Reception 404-924-2000 ext. 120 twilliams@sfvs.com
Liz Reed Client Reception 404-924-2000 ext. 120  lreed@sfvs.com 
Yvonne Reed  Client Reception 404-924-2000 ext. 120  yreed@sfvs.com
Laura Lucas  Client Reception  404-924-2000 ext. 120  llucas@sfvs.com 
Tyler Evans  Client Reception  404-924-2000 ext. 120 tevans@sfvs.com
Scarlet Markle  Client Reception  404-924-2000 ext. 120 smarkle@sfvs.com 
Mary Van Gundy, RVT Surgery Nurse 404-924-2000 ext. 0 mvangundy@sfvs.com
Fairleigh Hoots  Surgery Assistant  404-924-2000 ext. 0  fhoots@sfvs.com 
Ashley Smith   Surgery Assistant 404-924-2000 ext. 0  asmith@sfvs.com 
Dixie Phillips, RVT Surgery Nurse  404-924-2000 ext. 0  dphillips@sfvs.com 
Tajai Wallace  Internal Medicine Assistant  404-924-2000 ext. 0  twallace@sfvs.com
Leslie Roberts, RVT Internal Medicine Nurse  404-924-2000 ext. 0  lroberts@sfvs.com 
Amanda Reed, RVT Diagnostic Imaging Nurse  404-924-2000 ext. 0  areed@sfvs.com 
Zack Avery Treatment Assistant  404-924-2000 ext. 0 zavery@sfvs.com
Amber Goldman Diagnostic Imaging Assistant 404-924-2000 ext. 0 amercer@sfvs.com
Cam McSween  Internal Medicine Assistant   404-924-2000 ext. 0  cmcsween@sfvs.com 
John Ashley, RVT  Internal Medicine Technician  404-924-2000 ext. 0  jashley@sfvs.com 
Michelle Gross, RVT  Emergency Nurse  404-924-2000 ext. 0 mgross@sfvs.com 
Amy Linehan, RVT  Emergency Nurse  404-924-2000 ext. 0 alinehan@sfvs.com 
Lisa Nied, RVT  Emergency Nurse 404-924-2000 ext. 0  lnied@sfvs.com 
Maribel Bahena  Emergency Assistant  404-924-2000 ext. 0  mbahena@sfvs.com 
Aki Urrutia, RVT  Emergency Nurse  404-924-2000 ext. 0  aurrutia@sfvs.com
Carly Creek, RVT  Emergency Nurse  404-924-2000 ext. 0  ccreek@sfvs.com 
Karen Bryant  Emergency Assistant  404-924-2000 ext. 0  kbryant@sfvs.com 
smallwood,axam,newton,veterinary,specialists,dog surgery,cat surgery,canine surgery,feline surgery,internal medicine,radiology,veterinary surgeon,veterinary surgery,pet surgery,tta smallwood,axam,newton,veterinary,specialists,dog surgery,cat surgery,canine surgery,feline surgery,internal medicine,radiology,veterinary surgeon,veterinary surgery,pet surgery,tta smallwood,axam,newton,veterinary,specialists,dog surgery,cat surgery,canine surgery,feline surgery,internal medicine,radiology,veterinary surgeon,veterinary surgery,pet surgery,tta smallwood,axam,newton,veterinary,specialists,dog surgery,cat surgery,canine surgery,feline surgery,internal medicine,radiology,veterinary surgeon,veterinary surgery,pet surgery,tta
Website Builder