Staff Directory - Saint Francis Veterinary Specialists

Internal Medicine:

Laura J. Smallwood, DVM, Dipl. ACVIM is our founder and Medical Director. She obtained her Doctorate of Veterinary Medicine from Kansas State University in 1984, followed by a small animal medicine internship at Santa Cruz Veterinary Hospital in Santa Cruz, CA. Dr. Smallwood completed her small animal internal medicine residency program at the University of Georgia School of Veterinary Medicine in 1989. She was a general veterinary practitioner for a three year period between her internship and residency training. Dr. Smallwood has practiced specialty veterinary medicine in Atlanta since 1990.
   Internal Medicine:

Jennifer McCown, DVM, Dipl. ACVIM.  Dr. McCown completed her veterinary training in 2005 at the University of Florida College of Veterinary Medicine. She completed her small animal medicine and surgery internship at a multi-specialty hospital in Florida in 2006, and her small animal medicine residency at the University of Florida College of Veterinary Medicine in 2009. Dr. McCown joined Saint Francis Veterinary Specialists after practicing in a specialty and emergency hospital in California for four years.
 
Director of Emergency Medicine:

Katie Belz, DVM.
Dr. Belz obtained her Doctorate of Veterinary Medicine, graduating Summa Cum Laude in 2007 from the Texas A&M School of Veterinary Medicine. Next, she completed an internship in Small Animal Medicine at the University of Florida College of Veterinary Medicine. Dr. Belz then completed her residency in Small Animal Internal Medicine at Virginia Tech College of Veterinary Medicine. Dr. Belz sucessfully passed the ACVIM Board examination in June, 2011. 
Surgery:

Jenifer Newton, DVM, Dipl. ACVS, MS is the companion animal surgeon at Saint Francis Veterinary Specialists. Dr. Newton obtained her Doctorate of Veterinary Medicine from the University of Georgia School of Veterinary Medicine in 1992, and also completed her small animal surgery internship there. She completed her small animal surgery residency program and obtained her Master of Science Degree at The Ohio State University in 1996. Dr. Newton has practiced specialty veterinary surgery in Atlanta since 1996.
Radiology:

Tasha M. Axam, DVM, Dipl. ACVR is our radiologist. She received her Doctorate of Veterinary Medicine from the Tuskegee University School of Veterinary Medicine in 2004. She completed a small animal surgery and medicine internship at the Purdue University School of Veterinary Medicine in 2005, and completed her residency in diagnostic imaging at the University of Georgia School of Veterinary Medicine in 2008.

Directory

Veterinarian Patient Referrals & Reception Desk:
email:   referrals@sfvs.com   phone: 404-924-2000

Staff Contact Information

Name: Position: Phone:  Email:
Dr. Laura Smallwood Diplomate ACVIM - Internal Medicine & Medical Dir. 404-924-2000 ext. 110 lsmallwood@sfvs.com
Dr. Jennifer McCown Diplomate ACVIM - Internal Medicine  404-924-2000 ext. 127 jmccown@sfvs.com 
Dr. Katie Belz  DVM - Director of Emergency Medicine 404-924-2000 ext. 129 kbelz@sfvs.com 
Dr. Jenifer Newton Diplomate ACVS - Surgery 404-924-2000 ext. 109 jnewton@sfvs.com
Dr. Tasha M. Axam Diplomate ACVR - Diagnostic Imaging 404-924-2000 ext. 130 taxam@sfvs.com
Dr. Melissa Ehrlich  DVM - Emergency Clinician  404-924-2000 ext. 115 mehrlich@sfvs.com
Dr. Juliette Van Galder  DVM - Emergency Clinician  404-924-2000 ext. 115 jvangalder@sfvs.com
Dr. Katie Ray   DVM - Emergency Clinician   404-924-2000 ext. 115   kray@sfvs.com 
Dr. Meredith Ghee   DVM - Emergency Clinician   404-924-2000 ext. 115  mghee@sfvs.com 
Tommy Meers CVPM, Administration, Finance, I.T. 404-924-2000 ext. 108 tmeers@sfvs.com
Matthew Laing CVT, Practice Manager, H-R  404-924-2000 ext. 116  mlaing@sfvs.com 
Tamara Williams Client Reception 404-924-2000 ext. 120 twilliams@sfvs.com
Liz Reed Client Reception 404-924-2000 ext. 120  lreed@sfvs.com 
Azra Ahmic Customer Service Manager 404-924-2000 ext. 120 aahmic@sfvs.com
Yvonne Reed  Client Reception 404-924-2000 ext. 120  yreed@sfvs.com
Laura Lucas  Client Reception  404-924-2000 ext. 120  llucas@sfvs.com 
Bonita Jones  Client Reception  404-924-2000 ext. 120 bjones@sfvs.com
Scarlet Markle  Client Reception  404-924-2000 ext. 120 smarkle@sfvs.com 
Laurel Wilson  Client Reception  404-924-2000 ext. 120  lwilson@sfvs.com 
Mary Van Gundy RVT - Surgery Nurse 404-924-2000 ext. 115 mvangundy@sfvs.com
Lisa Nied  RVT - Internal Medicine Nurse  404-924-2000 ext. 115  lnied@sfvs.com 
Tajai Wallace  Internal Medicine Assistant  404-924-2000 ext. 115  twallace@sfvs.com
Jasmine Madden  Surgery Assistant  404-924-2000 ext. 115  jmadden@sfvs.com
Katherine McAllister  RVT - Emergency Nurse  404-924-2000 ext. 115 kmcallister@sfvs.com 
Leslie Roberts RVT - Internal Medicine Nurse  404-924-2000 ext. 115  lroberts@sfvs.com 
Amanda Reed RVT - Diagnostic Imaging Nurse  404-924-2000 ext. 115  areed@sfvs.com 
Fairleigh Hoots  Surgery Assistant  404-924-2000 ext. 115 fhoots@sfvs.com 
Zack Avery Treatment Assistant  404-924-2000 ext. 115 zavery@sfvs.com
Amber Mercer Diagnostic Imaging Assistant 404-924-2000 ext. 115 amercer@sfvs.com
Jessica Milton  RVT - Emergency Nurse  404-924-2000 ext. 115 jmilton@sfvs.com 
Jacole Strozier  Emergency Assistant  404-924-2000 ext. 115 jstrozier@sfvs.com
Lindsay Davis Emergency Assistant  404-924-2000 ext. 115  ldavis@sfvs.com
Carly Creek RVT - Emergency Nurse 404-924-2000 ext. 115   ccreek@sfvs.com 
Christyna McSween  Internal Medicine Assistant   404-924-2000 ext. 115  cmcsween@sfvs.com 
Aki Urrutia RVT - Emergency Nurse  404-924-2000 ext. 115  aurrutia@sfvs.com 
smallwood,axam,newton,veterinary,specialists,dog surgery,cat surgery,canine surgery,feline surgery,internal medicine,radiology,veterinary surgeon,veterinary surgery,pet surgery,tta smallwood,axam,newton,veterinary,specialists,dog surgery,cat surgery,canine surgery,feline surgery,internal medicine,radiology,veterinary surgeon,veterinary surgery,pet surgery,tta smallwood,axam,newton,veterinary,specialists,dog surgery,cat surgery,canine surgery,feline surgery,internal medicine,radiology,veterinary surgeon,veterinary surgery,pet surgery,tta smallwood,axam,newton,veterinary,specialists,dog surgery,cat surgery,canine surgery,feline surgery,internal medicine,radiology,veterinary surgeon,veterinary surgery,pet surgery,tta
Website Builder